Quite a week end…

Gotta love it, had a great Valentine’s week end, first had lunch with my childhood friend, Judy.  We met at O’Charley’s and she recognized me saying “I look like my mom”, what a nice compliment.  The four of us, Judy and Ken, Steve and I, got seated, chatted like craaazy, like soo darn fast, like wow, am I going to fit it all in our conversation.  We laughed remembering the baby chicks that were given to us by a wonderful neighbor for Easter…yes, every child in that neighborhood got at least 3 baby chicks that particular Easter.  Then onto other crazy things we had done, so much fun reminiscing.  Of course, we had to chat it up about our wonderful adult children, what they are all doing now, and then on to the grandchildren…how proud we are of our families.  All of our kids and grandkids have turned out so great. 3 John 1:4, “I have no greater joy than to hear my children walk in truth”…  Who could ask for more…and what pleased me most is my friend Judy is so involved in her church for community, knowing the Lord.  Wow!!!  Pays to serve your country for 28 yrs in the navy subs, b/c ya never know where you’re going to live and have the Bible presented to you.  Now how cool is that.

Well, after leaving my friend, my dear friend, we took off for NC for the week end, why not, snow was coming (3″ might I add) and of course, NC got 3″ as well, but snow didn’t begin til much later after our arrival.  Lee and Dianne welcomed us in with open arms, warm cozy house, coffee on and of course we just chatted up a storm, then in came Michael and Diane with Cody, and more great conversations…learning their eldest son Kevin is right now as I type in Marjah, Afghanistan, Battle of all Battles going on now.  After the kids all left, we settled in for soup and biscuits for supper and watched the snow fall ever so silently…one moment all is green (or should I say winter brown) and then all of a sudden white as white can be.  Absolutely beautiful if you don’t have to be in it.  Along with us Lee and Dianne have a young man, Daniel, from Ecuador staying with them for 6 weeks total (4 left now), what a pleasant young 17 yr. old.  He took his summer vacation from his home to come to the USA for 6 weeks of education.  He’ll be graduating and then on to Spain for college, the USA is too expensive.  I agree.

Saturday brought lots of fun, our husbands sent us for massage therapy…wow, loving it, if I were wealthy Donald Trump style, I’d have a person come to my home and give a massage to me daily.  I hope I wasn’t drooling as my head faced the floor and I enjoyed the massage.

Then home for grilled extra sharp cheese sandwiches and soup…then off to my favorite store (well, one of my favorites) ALDI.  What a place for great prices for groceries.  Every town should have one.  You name it, I bought it!!!  Steak, baked potatoes and mixed veggies for supper, then settled in for the night…mind you, the snow melted, YAAYYY!!!!

Valentine’s Day … February 14th  brought Steve preaching at Fellowship Community on Relationships…Great time of gathering with God’s favorites…then back to the house for packing up and heading for a family dinner at O’Charley’s in NC.  YUP!!!!  Must be a favorite for the Eiss family (elderly ones, LOL).  Then headed on home, it’s always nice to get home…to find NO snow…electricity must have gone off, clocks were all flashing like crazy, living room light was on (it always does that when electrics pop off).  And found out on early morning news that 50,000 were out of electricity and some people got 6″ of snow.   It was a week end from our Lord, “And now abide faith, hope, love, these three; but the greatest of these is love.” 1 Cor. 13:13, that’s what the week-end was filled with, amen and amen.

So it WAS quite a week end, filled so much with the goodness of God every step of the way, Psalm 13:6, “I will sing to the Lord, because He has dealt bountifully with me.”

Leave a Reply

